SLP Winter Must Reads

With so many of us approaching some type of winter break or another, I thought it might be fun to give out some homework!! But really, if you’re in need of some good, informative reads, here is an awesome list of books and blog posts that I think all SLPs should read:

1) The Journal of Best Practices by David Finch

The Journal Of Best Practices

The book provides amazing insight into somebody with Asperger’s Syndrome. I read it in one morning and it made me understand so many of my clients better. I would recommend it if you have trouble ‘getting’ why people with Asperger’s Syndrome have difficulty in groups or dealing with certain stimuli. The author also discusses his apparent lack of empathy in detail. This book even made me cry a couple of times 🙂

2) Carly’s Voice: Breaking Through Autism by Arthur Fleischmann and Carly Fleischmann

Carly's Voice

This book is incredible. If you haven’t read this book, please read it.  It will make you second guess the intelligence of so many children that you may have underestimated! Click on the link above to get a better book description than I can provide, and if you have any doubts about my recommendation, read the comments!

3) The Use of “Quiet Hands”

This is a blog post that will make you reconsider saying “quiet hands”. Short, but powerful!

4) “Use Your Words”

This is another blog post, but about AAC and forcing children to “use their words” instead. Again, very short but powerful!

5) No Safe Spaces

A good blog post about the use of the ‘r’ word.

6) My Stroke of Insight by Jill Bolte Taylor

My Stroke of Insight

A really great book that provides fascinating insight into strokes. If you don’t have time to read this whole book, or want to spend the money on it, OR want more information on her story, watch the TED Talk here. It’s 19 minutes long and very worth it if you haven’t heard her story before!

I should admit that these posts are biast. I am kind of obsessed with Autism and thus, find articles related to Autism most compelling. But regardless, these books and articles are fascinating and should make you think!

Enjoy! And think… 😉

Leave a Reply

