Chain Letter Link Up

I was fortunate enough to get interviewed by [simply speech] for the chain letter link up! You can read that post here.

Afterwards, I got into contact with Lauren from Busy Bee Speech and Felice from The Dabbling Speechie. You can read their responses below:

BUSY BEE SPEECH

1. Your name, email, and TpT store if you have one. If not, feel free to leave me your blog link.
Name: Lauren LaCour
 
2. When and why did you start blogging?
I started blogging around the beginning of October.  Honestly, the main reason I started blogging was to distract me from some personal situations I had going on in my life.  I was also creating materials for myself and thought, why not share?!  It’s so great connecting with other SLPs and getting new ideas.  Y’all definitely push me to be a better therapist!  🙂
 
3. What is your favorite population to work with?
I love working with my preschoolers.  It’s amazing watching that language light bulb click on in their little brains, and it’s so cute how excited they get when they finally say that word correctly.  They are usually ready and eager to try new things and play whatever new game I have for them.  These kids have my heart.  🙂
 
4. How much time per week do you spend blogging and/or creating materials?
On a typical week I probably spend about 15 or more hours on blogging and creating materials.  I like to take my time and really think through the materials I make.  I even research a lot when needed.  If someone else is going to buy or use a product from me, I want it to be worth it and useful in therapy.  
 
5. What’s your favorite topic to create materials for?
My favorite topics to make materials are probably preschool and fluency.  It’s pretty easy to find cute clipart for preschool.    It gets a little more difficult finding motivating pictures for older kids (that aren’t just from google images).  Fluency is another one of my favorite populations to work with and make materials for.  I like researching effective techniques and activities that I can make into fun games for my stutterers. Plus, there isn’t that many materials out there for these kiddos.
 
6. What’s the best thing about blogging?
One of the best things about blogging for me is hearing how much your kids like some of my activities or ideas!  It’s so cool thinking about something I’ve created being used in another part of the country or even another part of the world.  The network of SLPs out there is so positive and encouraging.  It makes me want to keep at it!  
 
7. Do you have any blogging tips?
Blog for the right reasons and have fun with it!  As much as I love all of the feedback and Facebook “likes” and sweet comments (you have no idea how much it means!), I don’t do this for you.  I do this for your kids.  If even one of my materials or ideas helps a student out there to be a better communicator, then I’ve succeeded.  If an activity of mine motivates a student to learn or try harder, I’ve done my job.  I don’t want to fuss over my number of pageviews or always beg for likes on my Facebook page (and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with doing that!).  I just don’t want that to be what I’m about.  So, no need to constantly babysit your blog.  Just have fun!  🙂 
 
8. Add a question and answer of your choice (can be speech related or not).
What are some of your other hobbies?  Apart from blogging and making materials, I love reading and crafting.  Big, fat novels are my favorite, although I don’t get to read as much as I’d like to.  Theology books are a must for me too.  I also make wreaths and other crafts all the time.  If I’m not on my laptop blogging, you can find me with a book or glue gun in hand.  
.
THE DABBLING SPEECHIE
1. Your name, email, and TpT store if you have one. If not, feel free to
leave me your blog link.

Felice Clark.  thedabblingspeechie@gmail.com.
http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Store/Thedabblingspeechie

2. When and why did you start blogging?

I started blogging at the beginning of October. It has been a
little over a year since I lost my Dad and about 6 months since I lost
my Uncle.  I was contemplating the idea of starting a blog about
speech therapy, but could never get things moving.  At my Uncle’s
memorial service, a quote was shared by Mark Twain that my Uncle
loved.  “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the
things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did. So throw off the
bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in
your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”  That stuck with me, so I
decided to explore, dream and discover what the blogging world would
bring me.

3. What is your favorite population to work with?

I love working with students on the autism spectrum
especially students with PPD and asperger’s.  I loved my junior high
and high school students and helping them navigate the complex social
scenarios they encounter everyday.

4. How much time per week do you spend blogging and/or creating materials?

It ranges from week to week, but on average 4-5 hours.  I
try to spend 20 minutes a day at work or use my prep time on
Wednesdays to create materials.

5.  What’s your favorite topic to create materials for?

I have fun creating games that can go with any speech or
language target.  I love creating materials for social skills and
teaching language comprehension.

6.  What’s the best thing about blogging?

It has been an awesome experience to meet and chat with
other bloggers via email.  I would never have been connected with
other speechies from around the country had I not started blogging.
Starting this blog has helped me to keep therapy fun and discover more
creative therapy ideas to use and share with all my colleagues.

7.Do you have any blogging tips?
Come up with a theme and name before you begin.  Make sure
you are ready to invest extra time to keep up the blog.  Having a
notebook to jot down blog post ideas is also helpful.  Also, pace
yourself and set goals to help you not get overwhelmed with keeping up
with your site.

8.  What got you into speech therapy?
I had a friend who’s mom was a speech therapist.  I
interviewed her as part of a science assignment and that got me
curious about the field.  I decided to major in speech therapy not
really knowing what I wanted to do, but thought this field of work
sounded cool.  Once I started the program, I loved it and continued
forward!  Looking back, it was evident that God had my back and knew
what he wanted me to pursue for a career before even I did.

Definitely go on over to both of their blogs and read, read, read! I spent some time reading them and they are both really amazing bloggers!

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Chain Letter Link Up

  1. Pingback: Chain Letter Link Up « Crafts For Preschoolers | Crafts For Preschoolers

  2. Pingback: Chain Letter Link Up!

Leave a Reply

